Other Neurodiverse Conditions, Conclusion

DISCLAIMER: This post is only the opinion of the author. This does not reflect the views of the neurodiversity community itself.

image
Diversity of human neurology.

Aside from the 6 main neurodevelopmental disorders that are included in neurodiversity (dyslexia, ADHD, autism, dyspraxia, dyscalculia, and Tourette syndrome), some advocates want to consider other disorders as part of neurodiversity. These are:

Schizophrenia[1]
Schizoaffective Disorder[1]
Parkinson’s Disease[1]
Circadian Rhythm Disorder[1]
Developmental Speech Disorder[1]
Dysnomia[1]
Bipolar Disorder[1]
Depression[2]
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder[1]

In the last 3 posts, all of these conditions were discussed. Now, I will have my conclusion on which on these 8 conditions can be included in the neurodiversity advocacy.

For me, I can say that the following conditions below can be part of neurodiversity:

Schizophrenia
Schizoaffective disorder
Circadian rhythm disorder
Developmental speech disorder
Dysnomia
Bipolar disorder

Why?

I thought these are neurologically wired and are inborn to the person who possess either of the conditions mentioned above. They are not “diseases” that needs to be cured right away. Some of these are co-existent with the neurodevelopmental disorders like developmental speech disorders. Some are really part of the person himself, like the cases of schizophrenia and schizoaffective disorder. They also are part of the human evolution to keep humans survive and avoid extinction. I’ll give

What about depression, OCD, and Parkinson’s disease?

I think they’re not included in neurodiversity because of the following:

Depression is a common mood disorder. Even neurotypicals do experience depression. The same goes for OCD, as it is quite common in the general population. Parkinson’s disease is a degenerative disease. Not a neurodevelopmental disorder.

This concludes my 3-part, or rather 4-part series on other neurodiverse conditions.

References:
1. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neurodiversity
2. http://www.thenewatlantis.com/publications/mental-disorder-or-neurodiversity

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “Other Neurodiverse Conditions, Conclusion

  1. I don’t have any of the conditions commonly included under the term “neurodiversity,” but I do have OCD, and I don’t see a good reason to distinguish it from something like bipolar disorder. It’s not particularly common (2 to 3 percent lifetime prevalence, compared to–I believe–something like 30 percent for depression?), it’s highly hereditary and often presents early in life (in retrospect, I was engaging in compulsive behaviors by age seven or eight), it’s often accompanied by things like sensory issues (e.g. misophonia, which I experience) and tics, it has neurological correlates (the brains of people with OCD actually look different), and there are theories that it may be an extreme form of evolutionarily advantageous behavior. Personally, I’m still not sure I’d include it on the neurodiversity spectrum, but then, I wouldn’t be inclined to include illnesses like bipolar disorder either (I personally feel mood/anxiety disorders are just disabling rather than different).

    Just food for thought 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow impressive comment! I do have some OCD traits as well though I have not formal diagnosis. I am really still thinking whether OCD is included in neurodiversity, because OCD brains think differently from most people I think. I’m not really a professional in psychiatry or neuroscience just expressing my thoughts about it. Anyway thanks for your share! ^_^

      Like

Leave a Reply

